beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sore between his legs

Sometimes when members call me to ask me about their insurance benefits, they tell me what is "wrong" with them...like today a man told me that he had a festering, pus-filled sore between his legs. Another man told me that his wife had ugly blisters and sores on her nose. Someone told me that their toenails were yellow and crumbling. The worst was when a woman told me that her stump had shrunk and she needed a new joint to attach her prosthetic leg.

I'm always fascinated, though, when a woman calls me shortly after she has been diagnosed with breast cancer and she doesn't sound completely out of her mind. So many woman are able to dial the phone and ask me relevant, intelligent questions and can actually thank me for the information I give them.

When my doctor discovered a lump in my left breast several years ago, I was unable to speak, eat, sleep, drive or dial a phone until the day after the lump was removed and I was given the diagnosis of Fibrocystic breast disease.

I wish I could be more like these strong women and less of a scaredy-cat.

10:04 p.m. - August 29, 2007
2 comments

Mood: Anxious to meet my granddaughter this weekend!

Reading: Phantoms by Dean Koontz

Listening to: Norah Jones

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo