beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Sandwich Generation

I now know why they call us the sandwich generation. I have a new granddaughter to worry about and now my father is sick.

My mom called me on Tuesday morning and told me that my Dad was stumbling around the apartment and acting �funny�. I went right over and took him to his Dr. who then told us to take him right to the ER.

I did, and since then, things have gone downhill. They discovered he has a blockage in one of his arteries, a horrible UTI, uremic poisoning, and a mass in his colon. OK, I can handle all of that stuff � when we age our body falls apart.

What I can�t handle is that my Dad�s mind is on vacation � he really does not know where he is and he�s acting �funny�. They gave him Ambien the other night and he ended up ripping out all of his tubes and started roaming around the hospital. He cries all of the time. He has been threatening to �kill everyone� and he thinks he�s being held in a prison. He thinks the walls are melting. The nurses are all mad at him and his family Dr. just left town for a 10 day conference.

After spending 10 minutes in his room I went out into the hall and started crying. I asked the nurse why was he so confused � he wasn�t like that when I brought him to the hospital on Tuesday. They had no answers.

I know uremic poisoning can cause confusion�.but I am scared to death. My husband and I are talking about having my mom and dad move in with us when he comes out of the hospital � mom can�t handle all this on her own.

9:32 p.m. - September 07, 2007
4 comments

Mood: SAD



------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo