beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Legal High

So, the physical therapist left my Dad alone in the bathroom where he promptly fell and broke his hip. He's having hip surgery tomorrow.

Of course my Irish family always has to find something funny in tragedy. The hospital has my Dad STONED on laudanum (sp?). My Dad is as happy as a clam. Instead of fighting with my Mom all day to try to get more than 6 ativans from her, he has now coerced the nurses into giving him his meds every 4 hours. My Dad had a squirt of meds at 4:00 and at 5:30 he told the nurse he needed some pain meds. They were going to give him some until my mom said, "But, hon, you just had a squirt at 4:00". I think my Dad wanted to kill my mom. He opened his eyes and told her to mind her own goddamn business.

See, Dad quit drinking and smoking over 30 years ago, but he just exchanged one addiction for another. He has been thrown out of every drugstore in town because he tries to get his Ativan RX refilled 25 days before the next refill is due.

My Dad is already in heaven - he just hasn't passed through the pearly gates.

10:42 p.m. - October 18, 2007
2 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo