beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Movin' On

I had my yearly well-physical on Wednesday. On Thursday, the nurse called to tell me that my cholesterol had jumped dramatically from 175 to 243. She was going to mail me a low-cholesterol diet and a lab slip to have my cholesterol re-processed in January, 2009.

SAY WHAT?????!!!!!!

I did some research and read that the particular anti-anxiety/anti-depressive medicine that I am currently taking is notorious for dramatic increases in cholesterol levels.

I immediately called the nurse back and asked her to relay that information to the doctor. She sounded pretty skeptical and I think she thought I was making it up so that I wouldn�t have to eat cardboard for the rest of my life. She did; however, promise to tell the Doctor.

I was vindicated when the nurse called back to tell me that she had spoken to the doctor and that the doctor agreed that the meds could be contributing to the dramatic increase, but that I was still to go on the low cholesterol diet.

Blacch�

In other news, the Diner Babes are starting to branch out for our Thursday night meeting venues. We�ve been meeting at the same damn Diner for close to 20 years and I just can�t stand it anymore. When we first started meeting, the Diner was a busy place to go � waitresses in crisp uniforms were scurrying back and forth and busboys had the tables cleaned seconds after the customers left. The food was hot and edible. The place was always busy and occasionally, we would have to wait to be seated at our favorite table.

Unfortunately, that is not the case anymore.

When she eventually takes our orders, our waitress wipes her brow sweat on her stained, garishly purple shirt. Tables are left un-cleared � a veritable feast for the flies that have taken up residence in the ceiling. The hot and cold foods are both served luke warm and they don�t have a liquor license. We need never wait for �our� table, because the place is usually empty except for a few groups of smoking teenagers who laugh uproariously when they leave their tip of accumulated pennies beneath an upturned water glass.

Last Thursday night we went to the local sports bar and ate outside on the patio. The weather was beautiful, the service was prompt, there were no flies, and the food was hot and delicious. What else, what else? Oh yeah, the Miller Lite was ice cold!

I think I�m going to like the change!

12:38 p.m. - Sunday, Jul. 13, 2008
1 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo