beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wrong Place at the Wrong Time


So last night, I was watching Saturday Night Live and once again enjoying Tina Fey�s impersonation of Palin. Suddenly the phone rang.

S.J. (Youngest Son) said, �Mom, you won�t believe what just happened to me with the cops. But don�t worry, I�m not in trouble or anything.

Me: �What, what what????!!!!!!�

S.J.: �I was driving down the road and suddenly I saw three cop cars behind me. I pulled over and they started screaming at me to get out of the car. They were all pointing their guns at me. I got out of the car and they screamed at me to get down on the ground. Then one put his foot on my back while the others were screaming, �Where�s the gun? Where�s the gun? What�d you do with the gun?��

S.J. continues: I kept telling them I didn�t have a gun and that I had just left my house. They tore my car apart and then suddenly they told me that they were sorry and that I was free to go. They all jumped back into their cars and sped away

Me: �What, what what????!!!!!!�

S.J.: �I�m going to go hang out with my friends now.�

Me: �What, what what????!!!!!!�

I woke up my husband who was sitting right next to me on the couch, yet had managed to sleep through all of this and told him what happened. I then called 911 and told the dispatcher that I wanted one of the officers that were involved to call me back.

An officer called me back in about 15 minutes, and before I started speaking, I let him know that my father was a retired policeman from this same township. The policeman told me that he knew my father and then basically told me the same story that my son had told me. He was also able to tell me that they had stopped S.J. because they had gotten a call about a young white male driving a black Cherokee and carrying a gun. They quickly realized that he was not the person they were looking for and let him go

Five minutes later, they actually did stop a young white male in a black Cherokee who had a 357 Magnum in a shoulder holster. They were questioning him while the policeman was talking to me.

The policeman apologized to me and told me that my son was basically in the wrong place at the wrong time.

My husband and I sat numb until 3:00 a.m. and then I told him that we might as well try to get some sleep.

This morning we got up and went to Mass to thank God that my son was not shot dead last night.

Our nerves are shot.

5:40 p.m. - Sunday, Sept. 28, 2008
4 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo