beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Delicious!



My daughter bought me this pin and I just love it!!

If you�re a regular reader, you all know that I HATE to cook. It�s so boring, but occasionally I do it out of guilt for my family.

When I was growing up, I ate dinner at my best friend Maria�s house a lot. Her family was �just off the boat� from Italy and her mother occasionally made a potato and sausage casserole

The whole family would sit around the table gabbing in Italian and Josephine would run around refilling plates, grabbing another loaf of bread, etc. I never saw her actually sit down to eat. Oh, another thing, they never drank anything until after they ate their whole meal. That really fascinated me!

Eventually, Maria and I had a huge battle (over a boy, of course) and we stopped speaking to each other when we were about 17 years old. Of course, in 1975, I wasn�t worried about recipes.

One day, I spotted this recipe in the Soprano�s Family Cookbook and I recognized it immediately. The first time I cooked it, I almost cried because it brought back so many wonderful memories. I fiddled with it a little bit, but now it�s perfect.

Roasted Sausages, Peppers, Potatoes, and Onions

Serves 4

2 lbs. potatoes peeled and cut into 2-inch chunks

2 green or red bell peppers, cored, seeded and cut into 1-inch pieces

1 large onion, cut into 1-inch chunks

1/4 cup olive oil

Salt and freshly ground pepper

2 lb. Italian-style pork sausages

Preheat the oven to 450-f degrees.

Spread the vegetables in a single layer in one or more large shallow roasting pans; do not crowd them, or they will not brown. Drizzle with the oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste. Stir well.



Roast the vegetables, stirring once or twice, for 30 minutes.

WATCH THEM!!! This cooked way too fast the first time I made it, so I made the chunks bigger and just kept my eye on them.

Pierce each sausage in two or three places with a fork. Place the sausages on top of the vegetables. Bake for 15 to 30 minutes, or until the sausages and vegetables are cooked through. Serve hot with a crusty loaf of Italian bread.

...and no comments on my dirty oven, please...heeheehee


9:11 p.m. - Wednesday, Oct. 22, 2008
1 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo