beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jim Thorpe


First of all, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all of my blogging friends! I just sat down for the first time since Christmas day and read all of your journals and it sounds like every one had very nice Christmases, except for requiel 's Jackson's broken arm. Hope he's feeling better!!

I am on vacation for the entire week and Hub took today and tomorrow off. My idea of a vacation day is sitting around the house reading and drinking copious amounts of tea. Hub's idea of a vacation day is to GO somewhere and DO something.

So, to keep the Hub happy, we decided to spend the day in the adorable village of Jim Thorpe. According to Wikipedia, following the 1953 death of renowned athlete and Olympic medal winner Jim Thorpe, the boroughs of Mauch Chunk and East Mauch Chunk merged and adopted the name of Jim Thorpe in hopes of attracting attention and tourism to bolster the local post-industrial economy. The township bought the athlete's remains from his third wife and erected a monument to the Oklahoma native, who began his sports career as a student in Carlisle, Pennsylvania.

This little village has lots of cute stores and some wonderful examples of 19th century architecture. We visited the tiny, historic Dimmick Memorial Library that was built in 1890.What a treat!


I bought a journal that was created with hand made paper from a store called �Naturally Yours�. There were lots of after-Christmas sales, but I was determined that I was not going to buy another Christmas decoration. I have way too many decorations! I promise you, pictures are coming soon.

We did a lot of walking in the cold, fresh air and ate a delicious lunch of roast beef on white bread with a side of gravy and mashed potatoes in a tiny pub. Calories, calories, calories, but oh so delicious!

This is a trip I would not have been able to take pre-magic beans, especially knowing that we would be coming home after dark. I actually did have a very mild panic attack as the sun went down and I knew we were about 90 minutes away from home, but I practiced my breathing and it went away pretty quickly.


10:01 p.m. - Monday, Dec. 29, 2008
3 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo