beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Letters

No Starbucks for 13 days

This is a copy of a letter that I sent to my son. Right now I really don't want him to respond to it.

Dear Popeye,

I�ve decided that I�m going to pretend that you live in another country and THAT is the only reason we aren�t seeing or hearing from you. No ugly words have been spoken, no ones� feelings have been hurt, no one is angry at anyone else � I�m just pretending that you just don�t have a phone right now and the only way Daddy and I can communicate with you is by letter.

If you don�t respond to my letters, I�m just going to pretend that you live somewhere that doesn�t have internet service and my letters will be read eventually.

The biggest thing about this �pretend� thing is that you are under no obligation to write back to me if you don�t want to. I�m not going to hold it against you - I have no hidden agenda.

I�m writing to you because I love you and I cannot erase you from my life.

Christmas came and went. The family gathered here on the Saturday after Christmas. We had Grand mom and Grand pop, Aunt Kathy and Uncle Alan, Aunt Patsy (no Uncle Jerome � he wasn�t feeling well), Katie and her husband Seth, Tommy and his girlfriend Natalie, Jason and Justin and of course, Daddy and I, LJ and P and SJ.

You know, Tommy turned out to be a really nice and funny kid. He brought his coin and dollar bill collection in an old record album box. He was funny because he really kept a close watch on everyone who was handling his money.

Of course the gathering wasn�t the same without you and your great sense of humor, but everyone sent good thoughts your way.

We�re all so disappointed that the Eagles aren�t going to the Superbowl. I bought myself a McNabb jersey and I�ve been wearing it for all of the games � I guess I�ll just put it away for next year.

Grand pop and Grand mom are doing pretty good. We�re all going to their apartment on Saturday to celebrate his birthday. Last week SJ went up to the apartment to clean off Grand pop�s car and Grand pop came outside and started hitting at the icicles with his cane. The next thing you know, he slipped and fell on the ice. SJ ran around the car and picked him up. The next day he was really sore all over and was afraid that he had broken his wrist, but it was OK. Grand mom said he fell out of bed last week too. You know that he�s driving again? I worry so much that he�s going to take Grand mom to work and then fall going back into the building and no one will find him for a couple of hours, but he insists on driving, so there�s not much I can do but pray that he�ll be OK.

Your Dad is so anxious about work as there are rumors that M has been sold to someone else. He�s not sleeping very well and his attempts at quitting smoking have been thwarted by stress too many times to count.

Well, I�m going to end here. I�ll write again next week. I hope you are doing well. I hope you�ve had some relief with your back. I pray that the baby is doing well and I hope that you are happy.

Remember, you are under no obligation to write back to me � I just want to make sure that you realize that we love you � you are our son � you are a part of us no matter how far away from us that you are (mentally or physically)- and we think about you every day.


10:24 p.m. - Monday, Jan. 26, 2009
7 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo