beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fun, Fat and Fear

Hub and I had a wonderful day at the Kutztown Folk Festival yesterday. They have a huge quilt show, folk arts and crafts, music, dancing and entertainment and delicious Pennsylvania Dutch food.

They also have a �seminar stage� that is the focal point for learning about the Pennsylvania Germans. Some of the topics included local history, family life, food, holiday traditions, clothing, folk superstitions and folk medicine. I always feel like I want to live a more frugal and simpler life when I leave there!

Hub and I walked for miles and attended seminars on the Menonite clothing and teaching in the one-room schoolhouse. We watched a glass blower create a beautiful vase. We spoke to several artists and ended up purchasing two of their prints. We watched craftsmen and women create corn husk dolls, pewter plates, whisk brooms, jewelry, quilts, rag rugs and baskets. We visited the antique booth where I purchased a vintage Christmas decoration.

We ate sausage sandwiches loaded with peppers and onions and had funnel cake and root beer for dessert.

Did I eat the waffle ice cream sandwiches? No! Did I eat the French fried sweet potatoes? No! Did I eat the shoe-fly pie or the strawberry shortcake or the fudge or the soft pretzels dipped in cinnamon sugar or the candied almonds? No!

Why didn�t I eat all of that? I didn�t eat it because I know it�s not healthy (both physically and mentally) to gorge yourself just because you know something is going to taste good.

So here was the scary thing. I am not exaggerating when I say that I saw at least 5 extremely obese women carting their fat asses and bulbous breasts and swelling ankles and quadruple chins on those powered scooter wheelchairs. OK, to satisfy anyone who might think I�m being prejudicial to overweight women I will state that�

#1 I am no skinny Minnie. My EfFexoR has added 30 lbs to my weight that I struggle with daily. But, I�m comfortable with that - I�d rather be a little heavy than an anxiety ridden, obsessive-compulsive, crazy person.

#2 One or two of those women may have had a medical diagnosis that caused the obesity

�but the other women were just morbidly obese - over 300 lbs. How the hell do you get THAT fat? I mean, seriously, at what point do you say to yourself, Fu@k it, I don�t care how fat I am, or Fu@k it, I don�t care that I can�t walk 2 steps. Fu@k it, I don�t care that I can�t fit in that restaurant booth anymore or Fu@k it, I don�t care that I�m so fat that I can�t clean myself properly, thus causing those around me to keep their distance.

I usually belong to the school of �There, but for the grace of God, go I� and I�m sincerely not being sanctimonious here. This is truly frightening � what happened to these women������..and could it happen it to me?

9:38 p.m. - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
4 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo