beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sewing?

Last night I attended the first instructional class for my new Viking sewing machine along with five other women.

Guess who broke her machine�s needle within 10 minutes of the class starting. �Sigh.

Why do I have such a hard time understanding instructions? The teacher was showing us how to do a �blind hem�, which is a really useful thing to know. She held up the fabric for all of us to see, folded it, stuck a pin in it and then folded it again and basically yelled, �Ladies, start your engines!�

I started to sew and quickly noticed that I had forgotten to drop my presser foot. After that false start, I began again and immediately broke my needle and jammed the fabric in the feed dog thingee. I then realized that I was sewing on the incorrect side of the fabric to begin with.

Somehow, while trying to extricate the fabric from the machine and remove the broken needle, I stabbed myself and began to bleed all over my fabric. I sat there applying pressure to my finger with my swatch while every one else exclaimed over their stitches.

All this was happening while some horrible woman hovered behind me with her arm stretched out of her socket because, attached to the other end was a writhing, screaming, dripping mess of a male child whose unnatural screams could have set off the fire alarms.

My nerves were seriously shot at the end of class and I didn�t even bother looking at all of the beautiful fabric. I went straight home and picked up my quiet kitten and went to my quiet bedroom and surfed the quiet net.

6:29 p.m. - Thursday, Sept. 03, 2009
2 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo