beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Flashing lights


I almost got a speeding ticket yesterday.

Every day I go home at lunch and throw in a load of wash, or fold a load or unload the dishwasher or load the dishwasher or throw some Comet in the toilets or�.you get the picture.

So, I realized I was running a little late and I jumped into my big �flame red� Durango and started speeding back to work. I�m flying down a road that is notorious for cops, but I was looking for them while I flew.

Unfortunately, some policemen drive unmarked cars � those sneaky buggers. Suddenly I saw flashing blue lights behind me and I figured it was a volunteer fireman racing to a fire. I slowed down and then pulled over � the car pulled up behind me and that�s when I realized it was a cop (I can use the word cop because my dad was one).

He came to my side window and asked if I knew why he had stopped me.

I said meekly, �No, officer, I don�t�.

�Mam, you were driving 43 mph in a posted 25 mph area!!�

Ooops! Well, I was very polite to him and I must have looked contrite because he left me off with a warning. Whew � that was a close one! Of course, if I had gotten a ticket, I would have told my kids that it was their fault because if they would help out around the house, I would be able to enjoy a leisurely lunch in a restaurant, not running home to fold THEIR underwear!!!!

I think I�ll set my cruise control on 25 when I go down that street because I�ve been �flying� down that road for 34 years and it�s hard to teach an old dog new tricks!


7:47 p.m. - June 01, 2007
2 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo