beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Puppies and books

Last night I had the best time! I went out with an old friend (old as in known her a long time �not old as in wrinkled). We first met at LL�s house so that I could meet her new puppy. Gismo is an adorable fawn pug who is sweet and funny! I was also reacquainted with Yoda, her Boston terrier. I didn�t actually meet her Chihuahua, Lily because she was too busy guarding the air space around my friend.

We then went out to dinner and later to a coffee shop to talk, talk, talk. My friend (LL) is employed in my dream job. She is a librarian � she is surrounded by books all day long - ALL DAY LONG!!!!!!!! She reads about books and purchases books and stamps books and covers books with crackly mylar covers and then writes about the books. She doesn�t usually file books � that�s up to the assistants (I was once her assistant) to do.

Now grant it, she works in a high school library and some people might not want to work with teenagers, but I loved working there and the funny stories that I came home with every day were worth any aggravation those kids dished out.

Like the time the senior boys were all singing �Sweet Caroline� in the periodical room.

Or the time the bird got into the library and two boys spent their study hall trying to catch it in a box, despite LL yelling, �Boys, leave it alone, leave it alone!�

Or the time LL chased a boy through the library, across the gym and over the dumpster to try to confiscate his cigarettes. Girlfriend, who knew she was so fast!!

Or the time we found a video that one of the students had made of himself drilling through the library ceiling in an attempt to build a secret fort up there.

Good times � I miss them terribly!


9:12 p.m. - August 10, 2007
4 comments

Mood: Thank God it's Friday!!


Listening to:: "There's no crying in baseball!"

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo