beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How Much is that Loofah in the Kitchen?

I guess you could say that my husband and I fit into the socio-economic section called �middle class�. We both work very had and make decent salaries. By decent I mean, we make our bills each month and then have a little left over for saving and eating out twice a week.

Last night I went to a home demonstration for �The Body Shop� products. The products are sold in malls like King of Prussia, etc., but they also do home shows. Seven women sat in a circle, drinking wine and soaking their feet in plastic tubs while the presenter told us how fabulous these products were.

After her �schpiel�, I started looking at the prices and I was shocked. I called the presenter over and quietly said, "K%m, can you tell me where the foot scrub and lotion are in this book?" She pointed to a $181.00 �collection� of lotions and scrubs and salts and loofah. I smiled at her and said, "Well, I was actually hoping to spend a little less than that. I really just want the scrub and the lotion�.

She looked at me as if I had just told her that I had sh*t in the foot soaking tub or used the pumice stone to ease the itch from a yeast infection. She then proclaimed, loud enough for everyone to hear, �Oh, well if you�re trying to save your pennies, than you can just get the scrub and the lotion for $50.00 plus tax�.

I'm telling you, It was like one of those "John Hancock" commercials. Everyone stopped and looked to see who was worrying about the prices.

Now, this woman�s husband owns one of the largest construction companies in this area and she admitted to us that she was selling the products to keep herself from getting bored. She does not have to save pennies, but damn, did she have to let everyone know I�m trying to?

One other thing � If one more person comes to my desk with Junior�s school fundraising catalogue for wrapping paper, frozen cookie dough, frozen pizza, magazines or overpriced chocolate, I am going to scream!!!! I think I have spent over $100.00 this week supporting all of the local elementary schools and I'm trying to pay for my own kid's college! GRRRRRRRR!!

7:53 p.m. - September 26, 2007
2 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo