beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chairs and Chai

I have the whole house to myself!!! No one is home!!!

This happens SO infrequently for me that I am LOVING it! Hub is at some Boy Scout function, Daughter is working and Youngest Son is working out. It�s cold and rainy outside and I�m watching the Eagles� game, reading my journals and drinking a Chai Tea from Starbucks. What could be better? As soon as the game ends, I�m heading for my pile of books.

Hub and I ran to BJ�s today and bought 4 folding chairs at 19.99 a piece. They�re padded with beige fabric and they�re very comfortable. SSSSHHHHH!!!!! Don�t tell anyone, �cause you know that someone is going to want to borrow them for a damn party and I�m not lending them out! I don�t need some drunk Irishman tossing them across a room after he�s gotten his �load��and Kathy if you tell anyone in the family, I�ll know who squeeled.

I bought the chairs because I�m hosting Thanksgiving this year. I�m having about 16 people. Half of us will be eating in the dining room and the other half will be in the den�or in the living room in front of that damn 55 inch TV that sucks your eyes out of your head! Most of the family will be visiting my Dad in the nursing home before we eat � my mom is actually going to have the big feast with him at lunch time.

I visited him yesterday and he actually seems to be doing OK. The staff insists that you get dressed in the morning and he looked good in his pants and his Navy sweatshirt. He was sitting on his bed watching the new TV my sister had bought him. She also bought him lots of snacks, like nuts and chocolate and Fig Newtons. His eyes lit up! My Dad has always been a junk food junkie.

While we were there, a man and woman came in to visit their parent and they bought their guitar and violin. They started to play some songs and all of the seniors came to the doors of their rooms to listen. It was really nice. I wish I had some kind of talent to entertain my dad � well, I guess I do, I can make him laugh.

4:08 p.m. - November 18, 2007
4 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo