beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cozy Cooking

Christmassy Thing #3: Played my new Josh Groban Christmas CD and my old Reba Christmas CD at work � drove them all crazy. I think I'm influencing my kids because (and no, I'm not making this up) our 18 yr. old son was playing our Bing Crosby Christmas CD last night while he was in the shower!

I�m on vacation! I�m on vacation!! I don�t have to go back to work until Monday! I plan to do some reading and cooking and cross stitching and a little cleaning tomorrow! Doesn�t that just sound great??

Mom is back at work full time and Dad seems to be settling in at the Rehab. He actually seems to be happier that she�s not sitting next to his bed all day staring at him. Under "normal" circumstances, during the work week, they never really spent that much time together, so I think her constant presence was making him more anxious.

No news on whether he will be staying in the nursing home or coming home.

For the Thanksgiving feast, I am taking care of the:

Hosting the event

Turkey

Stuffing

Gravy

Peas (blech!�only 1 family member insists on them and you know who you are)

Corn

Some of the rolls

Ice Tea

If I have time, I�m going to try to recreate my mother-in-law�s frozen ambrosia salad. She was killed in an MVA before she passed her recipes on to us. I googled it and this is what I found. I hope it tastes the same!

Frozen Ambrosia Salad

INGREDIENTS:

1 8oz. pkg. cream cheese

4 Tblsp. milk

6 Tblsp. sugar

1 medium can crushed pineapple

2 small cans fruit cocktail

1/2 cup chopped maraschino cherries

1 pt. whipping cream, whipped

dash salt

1 cup chopped pecans

PREPARATION:

Drain fruits, mix softened cream cheese, milk and sugar. Add drained fruits and nuts.

Fold in whip cream and freeze until solid.

8:36 p.m. - November 20, 2007
3 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo