beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Paddle balls and Yoohoo


Well, hubby narrowly missed an ass whooping. It�s not lung cancer � it�s bronchitis. Good for me � better for him.

OOH � forgot to write my Christmassy thing #9 yesterday: New Christmas template for my blog.

Christmassy Thing #10 � today: Purchased the new peppermint M and M�s that Melanie told me about. Uh, hello??? How great are these??!!

UH OH OCD moment: When I entered the doctor's office tonight, I couldn't sit down until I straightened up all of the magazines - I haven't done that for a while.

New Subject: So, when I was growing up, there was a �retarded� boy in our neighborhood named Joey. He was about 15 years older than me. I can use the word �retarded� here because his Mom used that word. His mom was the neighborhood gossip and she knew the neighborhood kids would reveal all of our family secrets for a cold YooHoo and a handful of Oreos � which she always had in abundance.

We all visited frequently and we were always fascinated by Joey�s prowess with his paddle ball. He would sit for hours in his aluminum lawn chair and hit, hit, hit that ball. He never looked at that ball and he never missed. Hit, hit, hit, hit. It was fascinating!

Eventually I grew up and bought the house next to Joey and his Mom. I think Joey had a difficult time seeing me as an adult. Whenever I would stop over to talk to his Mom � I was smart enough now to turn down the YooHoo and the cookies - he would interrupt me mid-sentence and shout to his mother, �Joanie don�t know what she�s talking about, Mommy!�

I thought of that memory today when I was quoting medical benefits to a member and she rudely asked me if I was sure I knew what I was talking about.

You�re damn right Joanie knows what she�s talking about, biotch! Just ask Joey!

9:59 p.m. - November 28, 2007
4 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo