beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sunday Mass


I�m Catholic � Roman Catholic to be exact.

My mother and the Immaculate Heart of Mary nuns taught me that I had to attend Mass every Sunday. If I purposefully didn�t, then that would be a MORTAL SIN - (a black spot on my milk-bottle soul per the Baltimore Catechism).

I was jealous of my friends who were Publics (when I was growing up, you were either Catholic or Public, depending upon which school you went to). The Publics only went to church occasionally and they got to go to sleep-over Bible camps in the summer! Catholics didn�t have camps, we just had CYO (Catholic Youth Organization) basketball games on the hot and dusty church parking lots.

When my sisters and I were kids, my mom would completely ruin our summer Sundays by insisting that we go to the 12:45 Mass at the church pictured above. I would watch my friends jump into their backyard pools while my mother ushered my siblings and I into the non-air conditioned family station wagon. We would then march into the non-air conditioned church, genuflect, slide into the pews and pray for a breeze.

I continued to go to Mass every Sunday for many years at the same church, but in the last two years, I have gone sporadically. I don�t receive communion when I do go, because I�m afraid that my accumulated missed Masses have now added up to a huge black Rorschach inkblot that is totally obliterating my milk bottle soul. When I do attend, I find my mind wandering - I look at young happy couples with beautiful babies and I start to worry about my son and granddaughter. I see happy middle age couples and I can't help but wonder why my friend's beloved husband just died of Non � Hodgkin�s lymphoma at the age of 60. I look at the Baptismal font and remember that my Swee'Pea was suposed to be baptized there - before the ugly blow up. I'm not finding peace at Mass, I'm finding sadness.

The one thought that has always pushed me to go to Mass is this: How can I ask God to keep my family and friends safe all week if I can�t even devote one hour to Him during that week?

Even this thought is not pushing me back to church. My mother says that I�m just lazy � my gut tells me I�m just weary.

- 2008-02-26
1 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo