beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Muffled manicures

Yesterday I went to the nail salon in the hopes of treating myself to a Mothers� Day manicure. My nails have grown out nicely after removing the acrylics and I�m trying to keep them looking nice.

When I entered the salon, I realized that there were a lot of other moms who had the same idea that I did because the place was jam-packed! I picked out my color and sat down. After waiting about 15 minutes, I decided to leave and come back later in the week.

I stood up to leave and suddenly the owner started shouting something in Vietnamese. With that, all of the nail technicians started pointing at me and yelling through their nail salon masks �Jo-Anne � you pick a color and sit down�, �Jo-Anne, sit down, I�m ready for you!� )I love how they break up my name into two syllables!) Of course this was all muffled by the mask so it sounded like �Mo-amm, mit dom, mit dom!!�

While smiling and waving, I continued my escape, and the yelling became more insistent and angrier. I ran to my car and suddenly I heard the distinctive �flip flop flip flop� sound of rubber sandles hitting cement.

I looked up to see the owner, a tiny Vietnamese woman, running towards me. Over her mask, I could see her frantic eyes scanning the parking lot for my car. She spotted me and suddenly she grabbed onto the side of my car and shouted through her mask, �Mo-anm, my mister is meady mor you � you mo mack in mow! Translation (Joanne, my sister is ready for you, you go back in now!

I continued to back up while yelling out the window that I promised that I would be back this week.

She demanded to know what night (Mut might, mut might?????�)

All this for a $10.00 manicure� Damn!

15:30 - 2008-05-12
2 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo