beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Quieter Way to Live



So, here�s the picture of the Hub and I in the Land of Love. Well, it�s really called Pocono Palace Resort, but when you drive onto the complex, there�s a big red wooden heart (damn, perfect picture taking opportunity!) with the words, �Welcome to the Land of Love�, inscribed on it.

We had a wonderful time. We relaxed in the heart shaped hot tub and took lovely naps (heeheehee) on the king sized round bed. We took walks along the lake and ate delicious meals in their dining room. I had one too many mudslides on Saturday afternoon, so except for those few hours that I slept through, I know we had a great time!

We ate by ourselves at breakfast, but at dinner, they ask you to sit with the other couples that are vacationing there also. On Friday night, we sat with a young couple who had been married for 5 years. He was a part-time farmer on his family�s farm and he also worked for Verizon. They raise beef cattle and chickens.

On Saturday night we sat with a bus driver and his wife from the Bronx, a young couple who lives about 20 minutes from our home, and an older couple from Brooklyn.

The couple from Brooklyn told us about their experiences on September 11, 2001. He was working in construction on the 37th floor of a high rise building and actually saw both planes hit the buildings. She was in the dry cleaners and saw the plane hit the building on the TV, but she thought the cleaner was just watching a movie on TV. When she walked out of the cleaner�s, everyone was running and screaming. They both agreed that it was a horrible time for them and neither of them have visited the site where the World Trade Center stood.

She now works at JFK airport for the department of Homeland Security. She said that people try to smuggle knives, drugs, brass knuckles, guns, etc. onto the planes every day and every day they are arrested for it!



Today the hub and I visited Lancaster County. I wanted to get a picture of one of the Amish men driving his horse and buggy, but I didn�t want to spook the horse, so I took it from behind. This broke me up in the brochure advertising the Mennonite Information Center..

SEE US FOR TOURS OF THE AMISH COUNTRY!! THE GUIDES RIDE IN THE GUEST'S CARS.


What the hell!!?? I told my husband that I didn�t like the idea of strangers riding in our car while giving us a tour, but he told me there probably aren�t too many seriel killer Amish guys riding in cars with tourists. Let's look again, shall we?


Yeah, that�s what he says. I can just see me, all fat, dumb and happy, looking at some cows and the next thing I know, some Amish guy is strangling me with his suspenders. No, thank you!

We visited this great Flower and Craft store and bought a new Christmas tree. My allergies preclude me from having a real tree.

We then went to Bird-in-Hand Family Inn and Restaurant and had a real home cooked meal of turkey and mashed potatoes and gravy and stuffing and corn and of course, homemade pumpkin pie. With all of the eating we did this weekend, I feel like a stuffed tick.

So, these are some of the names of the towns we drove through today: Intercourse, Hempfield, Smoketown, Blue Ball, Bird in Hand, Fellatio�Hahahahaha, got you on that last one didn�t I? OK, I made the last one up, but the others are real names of these towns in PA where the Amish and Menonites live. Don�t you think they would have settled in some place less suggestive?

I�m just saying�


8:10 p.m. - Monday, Nov. 10, 2008
6 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo