beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nope, she's not mine

Alright, so here�s what�s been going on. I have been trying to do a Christmassy thing every day and I�ve succeeded with that. I�ve also been trying to adopt a kitten � that��. not so good.

Last week I decided to get a kitten. I went to Pet Smart and saw three that I fell in love with. Now, my Pet Smart does not sell kittens � a local rescue organization manages all the kittens there � you don�t buy them from Pet smart, you adopt them from the rescue organization.

Anyhoodle, the next morning I filled out an online application and figured I�d be hearing from someone in about a week. 30 minutes later, �Pat M.� called me and began interviewing me. This is how the conversation went and I swear I�m not making this up.

Me: I want to adopt the little female calico kitten.

Pat M.: You can�t.

Me: I�m sorry??

Pat M.: If the kittens are under 6 months old, you must adopt two.

Me: Oh, I only want one kitten. I have cat allergies which seem to be controlled with Claritin. I�m concerned that two cats would be too much.

Pat M.: Well, sorry then, I can�t help you.

Me: Wait a min�

Pat M.: I�ll tell you what I can do for you. You can foster a cat. I have a cat right now that has feline leukemia � you can foster her.

Me: How about Lola � she was one of the older cats, could I adopt her?

Pat M.: Sorry, I already have someone for Lola, although the woman wrote on her application that she had a dog euthanized in 2001. I�m gonna call her veterinarian right now and if he tells me that they didn�t really try with the dog, I�m not gonna let her have Lola.

Me: Well then, if that adoption falls through perhaps you�d consider letting me�

Pat M.: Listen, honey, why don�t you think about fostering that sick cat?

Me: Um, well, I saw other cats at Pet Smart � what about one of them?

Pat M.: Listen sweetie, if I let you adopt one of those kittens and you come to me in a year and tell me you don�t want it anymore, I�m gonna be really angry and you do not want to make me angry.

Who the hell was I talking to???? Was she a pet rescuer or Tony Soprano??
So, once again, I have been shut out. Seriously, is it me?? How the hell do other people get pets? Every time I turn around there is a huge stumbling block and I swear I�m not putting it there!!

7:53 p.m. - Sunday, Dec. 07, 2008
7 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo