beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

God Bless You, Andrew Wyeth


Andrew Wyeth died today. The hubster and I just went to Brandywine River Museum a few weeks ago and viewed many of his winter paintings. At the time, his grandaughter gave a short tour and told us that she had just been with Andrew that morning and he was still working.

This phrase describes his works so well:

"I do an awful lot of thinking and dreaming about things in the past and the future � the timelessness of the rocks and the hills � all the people who have existed there," he once said. "I prefer winter and fall, when you feel the bone structure in the landscape � the loneliness of it � the dead feeling of winter. Something waits beneath it; the whole story doesn't show."

I love that he prefers "winter and fall, when you feel the bone structure in the landscape". What a wonderful way to describe the winter scenery. I feel the exact same way. He painted my landscape, the hills and farms and trees of Pennsylvania, images that I have lived with my entire life. I could look at his paintings for hours and recreate them in my mind driving through the Brandywine landscape.

I just love this cold weather. When I left work today, my car thermostat read 12 degrees. Everyone was complaining about the cold and I just kept my mouth shut because this weather makes me feel so alive.

&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&

Last night I went to my hair salon for my monthly trim. While there, I told my hairdresser that I wanted to either cut it REALLY short or start to let it grow again.

She reminded me that everyone thought I looked older when it was longer and that I always feel better about my looks when it's short...so she cut it really short and we died it dark brown. I love it. Picture will come tomorrow.

Day 3 Without Starbucks

10:35p.m. - Friday, Jan. 16, 2009
2 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo