beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Where's My Money?

What would you have done?

On February 2nd, the Hub and I had our taxes done by a lovely woman at H&R Block. She did our taxes last year also and we were very satisfied with her accuracy and professionalism.

Last Thursday, I realized that we had not received our rather substantial refund from the IRS. I contacted H and R Block and was told that their records showed that our refund had been electronically sent to our checking account on Feb. 27.

I then looked closely at my return and realized that our preparer had incorrectly entered our bank account numbers on the return. I contacted my bank and they verified that the money had not been deposited into our account.

After speaking with the IRS, I was told we now have to wait 8 weeks for the IRS to re-issue the check to our home address AND I had to write a check to the state of PA as she ALSO wrote the incorrect numbers on our state taxes.

I called H and R Block back and told them that I wanted to be refunded the $239.00 preparer�s fee. The manager told me that the taxes were done correctly, that the preparer had made one mistake and human beings make mistakes.

I told her that my taxes were not prepared correctly � that if they had been, I would be earning interest on my refund in the bank.

The manager was very rude, but after I told her that I was gong to send a written complaint to the main offices of H&R Block, she begrudgingly agreed to reimburse us the preparer�s fee.

I don't like to be forced to be a biotch, but I had to be, especially when the office manager started to imply that it wasn't a big deal. It was the principle. I think I did the right thing. Do you?


9:23 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 16, 2009
6 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo