beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sailing Away

Hub is hurt that Popeye hasn�t called us to tell us the Sea Hag is pregnant again. Poor Hub, he just doesn�t get it.

So, moving forward�

My mom told us that she didn�t want any gifts for her 78th birthday in June � she just wanted my two sisters and I to clean the windows in her apartment. She then got her third case of shingles (yes, I know there is a vaccine and if you are successful talking my Mom into getting it, you must be the Pope, �cause he�s the only person that I think she�d listen to) and so we had to push the cleaning back a month.

We gathered at the apartment on Saturday, and while we were cleaning, I couldn�t help but notice all of the ships that my Dad has built over the years. He�s always built ships and model cars and airplanes but he hasn�t been building them since he got so sick a few years ago. The detail work on these models is so intricate and I�m fascinated that my dad ,who always seemed to be about ready to jump out of his skin, could do something that required a calm and steady hand.

I was admiring them and suddenly knew I just had to have one � I had to have a piece of this �calm and relaxed� Dad. He seemed pleased that I asked him if I could have one and said, �Sure, pick one out�.

I said, �No Daddy, I want you to pick one out for me�.

He chose this Whaler for me.

I came home and put in on the shelf in my sewing room and then my OCD kicked in and I knew I needed another one for the other end of the shelf. So I went back on Sunday and asked him for another one and he gave me this Schooner.

The jar in front is a milk glass candy dish that my Mom gave me. This shelf is turning into a memory shelf.

I�m hoping his hobby will influence my own creativity.

8:39 a.m. - Tuesday, Jul. 28, 2009
3 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo