beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Duty Dilemma

More on jury duty.

My supervisor is also my friend. I know, I know, that is not always a good thing, but it is what it is.

When the court house released us at 11:50, I never even considered going back to work. I just thought, �Woo hoo! Half day for me! Point me to my swing, my book and my Diet Coke!�

My supervisor/friend just happened to call me as I was walking into the house around 2:00 (after taking friend out for birthday lunch) and she was shocked that I was already home. At first she shouted �Are you kidding me!! You�re home already!!??� and then she started teasing me about coming in to work and how they were so busy that she had to answer calls too and blah, blah, blah, etc. etc. etc.

Well��.

I arrived at work yesterday and several nosy women asked me why I didn�t come back to work. Of course they said this with little snarky smiles as if they were only kidding, but damnit, I knew they weren�t. They were pissed because I am one of the heavy hitters on the phone and my absence just made them have to work a lot harder!

They all said they heard my Supr./friend shouting and teasing me about coming in. One woman actually said that when she had jury duty, HR found out that she was dismissed early and they docked her for the time that she could have been at work. She told me this twice and I thought, OK, biotch, are you trying to tell me that you�re going to HR to complain?

My dilemma is that I can�t complain to my friend about shouting about my early dismissal to the whole freakin� office because then she�ll play the Supr. gig and tell me I should have come in anyway.

So, I'm opening this up for review. Must you go to work if you�re dismissed early from jury duty?

10:01 a.m. - Thursday, Aug. 06, 2009
9 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo