beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Call 911!!!!

When I left work on Friday night, all I wanted to do was lay on my swing, squeeze the kitten and read one of my new library books.

Best laid plans��

As soon as I walked in my house, my best friend (who is 66 years old) called and said, �B.P., I think I need you. I caught my sandal on a rake today and fell in the garden. I landed right on that big rock. I was feeling OK earlier, but now I�m afraid to stand up because I�m so dizzy and I feel a little sick to my stomach�.

I immediately drove over to her house, and after taking one look at her I told her I wanted to call 911. Her ankle was green and huge! Her face was a little swollen, and she was a funny shade of pasty yellow. The only thing she was complaining about was the pain underneath her ribs and her back.

Eventually, my husband and I, her daughter and her sister convinced her to go to the hospital, but she insisted that we not call 911.

We were able to get her about halfway to the car when she started to pass out. I heard her daughter say, �Mom, can you hear me, Mom can you hear me!!!??�

I immediately said �Fu@k this�, and called 911. They rushed her to the nearest hospital and we followed in our cars. Her ankle is fine - her face is fine, but she LACERATED her spleen. The pain she was experiencing was the blood pooling in her abdomen! She COULD have died! If she had passed out and not called any of us, she WOULD have died.

As of today they have not removed her spleen, but she is still in Intensive Care. They also just happened to discover that she has a benign cyst on her kidney.

The dr. told her if we had gotten her into the car, we could have caused more damage to the spleen. Her family keeps telling me that I saved her life, but I just feel that I waited TOO long to call 911.

So, to all of my blogging friends! Don�t ever be too embarrassed to call 911. Your life could be at risk and you might not even suspect it!


11:17 p.m. - Sunday, Aug. 09, 2009
6 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo