beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Feast of the Assumption


Yesterday, was the Feast of the Assumption. On this day, Catholics celebrate the dogma that Mary, the immaculate perpetually Virgin Mother of God, after the completion of her earthly life, was assumed body and soul into the glory of Heaven.

It's a custom in many coastal regions in the US and Europe to have special blessings of the water - the sea or ocean - on the Feast of the Assumption. Someone will row the priest out into the water. He will bless the water and he'll throw a wreath and sometimes a ring into the ocean. The boat ususally carries a statue of the Blessed Mother also.
We didn't get to see the actual ceremony but we did see the boat that the priest was in. See the cross in the front of the boat?


My mom loves to celebrate this feast by going to the beach that day and walking in the water and in the past, we have actually scheduled our family vacation so that we are down the shore that week. Yesterday, my two sisters, my daughter and my niece went to Ocean City and spent a few hours by the sea.



My two sisters and I right before a wave hit and soaked my capris



My mom and my sister, Kathy



Look at my sisters (in the hats) and look at me � you know the one with the HUGE boObs. What the hell is that? Physically, the three of us are pretty much built the same except for that damn gi-normous chest of mine. I should be on the fu@kin� prow of a ship! All of you smaller breaSted women out there, count your blessings!


9:36 p.m. - Sunday, Aug. 16, 2009
3 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo