beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Easter Peace Treaty

Yesterday, I was in the Acme picking up the ingredients for our family�s Easter dinner and suddenly my oldest son�s face appeared in my head and I started to cry. I�m standing in the line, putting my ham on the conveyor and the tears burst out of me and splashed onto my sweat shirt.

I tried to hide my face, but one woman kept looking at me in an embarrassed way. Something tells me that she�s done her share of crying in the Acme.

I walked out to my car and immediately called my son. Yeah, I know I wasn�t supposed to contact him, but he�s my son, for the love of God! As soon as he picked up the phone I started sobbing. I told him that I missed him and that I couldn�t stand not talking to him.

He told me that just the night before he had told his girlfriend that he wanted to have a relationship with his family again. We talked for a few minutes and then he called me last night to tell me that she feels that I have never let her tell me how much I hurt her when I reacted so negatively to the news that they were pregnant.

We talked for about an hour and I cried for about half of the conversation. He called again today and told me that the girlfriend is going to call me one night this week � I can�t really see that happening! Apparently she doesn�t like the fact that I take off the baby�s socks all of the time. I am going to be instructed to keep her dressed the way she arrives at my house. Damn, it�s not like I�m tying her legs into pretzel shapes or drawing mustaches on her face with permanent marker or tattooing the words, I love my Pennsylvania Grandmom on her forehead!

One good thing he did say is that he doesn�t care whether she and I come to an agreement; he is going to continue to have a relationship with us. He spoke to my daughter and my husband also.


So, we had a lovely Easter dinner. I made ham, deviled eggs, boiled new potatoes, pineapple fluff and broccoli with cheese. It was a lovely meal � not like the big family gatherings we are used to, but with my Dad being so sick, we just didn�t feel like a big celebration this year.



My youngest has been accepted to his �dream� school, Villanova University. I am so proud of him! He�s been accepted to Cabrini, Drexel University, Penn State, West Chester University and Villanova. Villanova is SO expensive � I sure as hell can�t afford it, but I don�t want to crush his dream either.


Happy Easter to all of my friends - I'm going to finish watching "The Sound of Music".

Mother Abbess - Climb Ev'ry Mountain Lyrics

Climb ev'ry mountain

Search high and low

Follow ev'ry by-way

Every path you know

Climb ev'ry mountain

Ford ev'ry stream

Follow ev'ry rainbow

'Till you find your dream

A dream that will need

All the love you can give

Everyday of your life

For as long as you live

Climb ev'ry mountain

Ford ev'ry stream

Follow ev'ry rainbow

'Till you find your dream

A dream that will need

All the love you can give

Everyday of your life

For as long as you live

Climb ev'ry mountain

Ford ev'ry stream

Follow ev'ry rainbow

'Till you find your dream

8:44 p.m. - Sunday, Mar. 23, 2008
3 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo