beyondpanic's diary

beyondpanic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Money Makes The World Go Round

Day 2 without Starbucks
It just keeps getting colder and colder and I'm loving it!

If you have mutual funds and you haven't yet opened the yearly statement, DON"T DO IT!!!!!! Step away from the envelope now!

In the past 12 months, we lost over $60,000.00. Now, please do not think we are wealthy. My husband is an automobile mechanic and I answer phones for a living. But I am a saver and when my husband's mom was killed in an automobile accident in 1983, he received an insurance settlement which I insisted we invest.

Since then, it has slowly grown and we have never touched it because my husband has no retirement plan. That money was our retirement and now we have $60,000.00 less.

I don't know whether to keep whatever funds we still have invested in the mutual funds or stick them in the local bank. Everyone says we should "stay the course", but they won't be paying for our nursing homes.

10:44 p.m. - Thursday, Jan. 15, 2009
3 comments




------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry




other diaries:

oldgreypoet
boobsinjuriesan
hereinthehills
requiel
imagineomit
fridayplaydate
kitchenlogic
andanotherthing
knuckleheadconv
catsoul
wifemotherme
la-the-sage
chaosdaily
poolagirl
yaketyyak
yankeechick
bitchypoo